St. John's Evangelical Lutheran | Craig, IA
In 2011 St. John’s celebrated 100 years of ministry in the town of Craig, Iowa. The church itself was founded just a couple years after the founding of the town. The Town of Craig was established in 1909 when a railroad spur was constructed from Merrill to Hawarden. By 1911, residents and area farmers felt the need for a German Lutheran Church and began meeting at the schoolhouse. The Western Town Lot Company furnished a lot and a nearby abandoned church building was purchased and moved to the site. Changing from the German language to English was an important factor in the early church growth. As far back as 1919, services were held in English and this attracted many in the area who were not of German descent. In fact, the congregation quickly outgrew the church building and so in 1924, the church leaders voted to build a larger home from St. John’s. While the building was being framed a tornado laid it even with the ground. Building continued again and the new church was dedicated on December 7, 1924. There have been a number of improvements to the church building since then. A pipe organ was added in 1936, as were an educational unit in 1960 and a new entrance with handicap accessibility in 1997. The beauty of the church building and the rich heritage of our congregation continue to inspire us as we look toward the future of God’s work through us in the town of Craig and beyond!